World's first plastic-free wooden payment card.
FAQ

Bild für FAQ-Pages-1

Availability

Is the wooden card offered as a debit card and Mastercard/Visa credit card?

Yes, the wooden card is available as a debit card (girocard only or with a co-badge) as well as a Mastercard and Visa credit card.

Where can I get a wooden card?

End customers: Through your bank - ask them if they already offer the cards. 
Banks: Through your card issuer. 
Card issuers: Through your card producers. 


If you need help identifying the right contact person, please contact:
DG Nexolution (mina.guerbuez@dg-nexolution.de) or
Swiss Wood Solutions AG (lehringer@swisswoodsolutions.ch)

What quantities are available?

The pilot volume for 2022 has already been allocated. Our goal is to significantly increase production capacity in 2023.

If you are interested, please contact:
DG Nexolution (mina.guerbuez@dg-nexolution.de) or
Swiss Wood Solutions AG (lehringer@swisswoodsolutions.ch)

Raw Materials / Composition

Where does the wood come from?

The wood is local and comes from sustainably managed forests in Europe (EU and Switzerland).

What type of wood is used?

The first wooden card is made of maple. Other domestic wood species are also possible and we are currently working on expanding the range.

Are the raw materials used in the wooden card certified?

The wood currently comes from FSC/PEFC-certified forests in the EU and Switzerland. The wood-based paper for the antenna inlays is also FSC-certified.

How many cards can be made from 1 m3 of wood?

Around 100,000 cards can be made from just 1 m3 of round wood. This volume grows back in the Swiss or German forest in 3-4 seconds and binds CO2 again. 
Sources: Switzerland, Germany

How big is the plastic content in the card body?

The card body of our wooden card consists of 100% bio-based and biodegradable materials (wood, paper and bio-adhesive) and is therefore plastic-free. This clearly distinguishes our card from conventional plastic cards or from other wooden hybrid-cards on the market. Because in these wooden hybrid-cards, the card body often contains a plastic core layer.

What exactly does "plastic-free wooden card" mean?

The card body consists of several layers of specially modified wood. For the modification we only use temperature, pressure and humidity - and no chemicals or plastics. The carrier material for the antennas is also plastic-free, as it is made of normal wood-based paper. Of course, a security chip module, an antenna and a magnetic stripe are also required for the full payment functions of the card. These regulatory and technologically necessary card components are the same as in all other payment transaction cards and consist of metals, semiconductors, plastics and adhesives in small quantities.

What kind of glue is used in the wooden cards? Is the glue petroleum based?

The adhesive is a water-based system, bio-based and biodegradable. Since we consistently follow the philosophy of avoiding petroleum-based raw materials with our wooden cards, the adhesive does not contain any petroleum derivatives.

Sustainability

Are the card bodies of the wooden cards biodegradable?

Yes, because the card bodies are made of wood and paper bonded with a bio-based and biodegradable adhesive. The wooden cards are therefore completely biodegradable, except of the antenna, the chip and – if present – the printing ink and the magnetic stripe.

What is the correct way to dispose of the card?

In fact, as the card body is fully biodegradable, you could use the card as fertilizer in your flower pots. However, since the card contains a magnetic stripe, a chip and a copper antenna, the card is officially classified as electronic equipment and should be treated as such. It is therefore best to return the card to your bank or to the card manufacturer, with whom we are currently evaluating concepts for 2nd life cycle concepts ("cradle-to-cradle").

What is the detailed ecological aspect and life cycle of the card?

We are working on a complete life cycle analysis (LCA) that will evaluate the ecological footprint of the wooden cards in direct comparison with PVC cards, wood-plastic hybrid cards and other card materials.

Are the inks used on cards also environmentally friendly?

No, not at the moment, so we avoid the use of printing inks as much as possible. However, this is not always possible for regulatory reasons (e.g. Maestro or Mastercard logo).

Wouldn't it be better to leave the trees in the forest instead of turning them into wooden cards?

No, because forests from which wood is regularly removed through sustainable timber harvesting achieve higher volume growth rates per year and finally store more CO2. In addition, the forests in our regions fulfill three main functions that are mutually dependent. Sustainable use of wood and regular care lead to 
- income for the forest owners 
- preservation of the protective and recreational function 
- stabilization of the forest ecosystem. 
Very important in everything: The wood must come from certified and sustainably managed forests.

Where does the term sustainability actually come from?

The term sustainability originally comes from forestry: if you only cut down as many trees as can grow back, you ensure that the forest is available for future use and that it retains its value in the long term.

Technical Characteristics

Can my wooden card do everything that a plastic card can?

Yes, all technical features such as antenna, chip, magnetic stripe, contact and contactless functionality are identical to conventional cards.

Is the surface of the wooden card treated?

No, the surface is untreated and uncoated. It is a pure wooden surface that is absolutely smooth and closed-pored thanks to our patented modification process - without any chemicals or plastics.

Where do the color variations between the different wood cards come from?

We currently use maple wood, which has a natural range from light to caramel brown tones after the card has been made. This variance is perfectly normal and is proof of the natural origin of the wood.

Will the card be produced with a magnetic stripe and signature field?

For regulatory reasons, payment cards must have a magnetic stripe by 2026. We already do without a signature field. This is no longer mandatory.

Usage Properties

How durable is the wooden card with regard to the 4-year term?

The wooden card is designed for use with a term of four years. Like all other cards made from different materials, the card has been subjected to extensive tests and has also gone through the load scenarios according to the Mastercard CQM. The card was approved by Mastercard with restrictions on breaking strength and moisture resistance, since wood is a hygroscopic material (reacts to moisture changes) and is more rigid than plastic.

How shatterproof is the card?

Our wooden card is more rigid than a conventional plastic card and requires significantly more effort to bend. In contrast to plastic, the card cannot be deformed over very tight bending radii, but then breaks. However, such a load does not occur in normal use and can only be generated willfully with great effort.

Is the wooden card prone to damage in daily use?

No, the wooden card is made for everyday use. This means that the mechanical and environmental stresses associated with regular use of a card do not affect the wooden card. But one thing is clear: wood is neither plastic nor metal.

What happens to the wooden card if it gets wet or is exposed to high humidity?

Since the card is made of specially modified but still natural wood without any additional plastics or chemical, it absorbs a small amount of moisture. However, this effect is significantly reduced compared to normal wood. Short-term exposure to moisture is therefore not a problem and immediate re-drying leads to complete restoration of the original condition. In general, contact with water should be avoided if possible and the card should be kept in the wallet. The card is not harmed when getting wet for a short time if it is direclty  re-dried.

Why does the card warp under high humidity?

Due to the one-sided contact with moisture, the wood expands slightly and - like a bimetallic strip - the card then curves slightly. However, due to our special modification, this effect is greatly dampened compared to an ordinary wooden card. And - once the humidity on both sides of the card has equalized again - the curvature is also completely reversible.

Can I use it in a humid climate, e.g. on a skiing holiday/in the mountains or in the tropics/beach?

Yes of course. The wooden card is made for everyday use. This means that the mechanical and environmental stresses associated with regular use of a bank card do not affect the wooden card. But one thing is clear: wood is neither plastic nor metal.

What happens to the wooden card when it gets warm, for example under the windscreen in a car?

The wooden card is made for everyday use. This means that the mechanical and environmental stresses associated with regular use of a card do not affect the wooden card.

What happens to the wooden card if I accidentally wash it?

If the card survived and is still functional after being re-dried, you're in luck. If it no longer works, please contact your bank.

Can the wooden card bend if I carry it in my wallet?

As with normal plastic cards, the wooden card can show a slight permanent deformation under permanent bending stress. This deformation can be corrected by gently bending it by hand in the opposite direction.

How do I stow the wooden card correctly?

No special precautions need to be taken with regard to safety against breakage. In order to avoid bending the card, it should not be stowed away loosely in a damp environment, eg individually in a trouser pocket. It is recommended to keep the card in a purse, cardholder or wallet at all times. If the card nevertheless bends sharply due to incorrect storage, it must not be used in an ATM in this condition. However, contactless or contact-based use with other card readers is not critical. The warping will reduce itself if you keep the card in a dry environment and in your wallet for a long time.

Are there any reports on the use of the wooden card?

Yes, the first prototypes (e.g. business cards, sample cards) have been in use for more than 2 years. Recently also the first payment transaction cards.

Ansprechpartner für Swiss Wood Cards

Ansprechpartner für Swiss Wood Cards

Dr. Christian Lehringer
Chief Product Officer
T +41 44 244 38 10

Design ohne Titel (2)

La première carte de paiement en bois sans plastique au monde.
FAQ

Bild für FAQ-Pages-1

Disponibilité

La carte bois est-elle proposée comme carte de débit et comme carte de crédit Mastercard/Visa?

Oui, la carte bois est disponible en tant que carte de débit (girocard seulement ou avec co-badge) et en tant que carte de crédit, Mastercard et Visa

Où puis-je obtenir une carte bois ?
 Utilisateurs finaux : par l’intermédiaire de votre banque - demandez-leur s'ils proposent déjà les cartes.
Banques : par l’intermédiaire de votre partenaire émetteur de cartes.
Émetteurs de cartes : par l'intermédiaire de vos producteurs de cartes.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour identifier votre contact, veuillez nous contacter:
DG Nexolution (mina.guerbuez@dg-nexolution.de) oder
Swiss Wood Solutions (lehringer@swisswoodsolutions.ch)
Quelles sont les quantités disponibles?

Les cartes du pilot 2022 ont déjà trouvé preneur!
Notre objectif est d'augementer la production en 2023 de façon significative.Si vous ètes intéréssés, veuillez nous contacter:  
lehringer@swisswoodsolutions.ch oder mina.guerbuez@dg-nexolution.de

Matières premières / Composition

D'où vient le bois ?

Le bois est local et provient de forêts gérées durablement et de fournisseurs certifiés d'Europe (UE et Suisse).

Quel espèce de bois est utilisé

La première carte en bois est en érable. D'autres essences de bois domestiques sont également possibles et nous travaillons à élargir la gamme.

Les matières premières utilisées dans la carte bois sont-elles certifiées ?

Le placage provient de bois suisse et de forêts européennes certifiées FSC/PEFC. Le papier utilisé pour le support d'antenne est certifié FSC.

Combien de cartes peuvent être fabriquées avec 1m3 de bois?

Seul 1 m3 de bois est nécessaire pout produire environ 100'000 cartes. Ce volume repousse dans la forêt suisse en 3 secondes. 
Sources: Switzerland, Germany

Quelle est la proportion de bois dans la carte bois?

Le corps de notre carte en bois est composé de matériaux 100 % biosourcés et biodégradables (bois, papier et colle biologique) et est donc sans plastique. Cela distingue clairement notre carte des cartes en plastique traditionnelles ou même des autres “cartes en bois” disponibles sur le marché. En effet, dans ces “cartes en bois”, le corps de la carte est renforcé par du plastique.

Que veut dire "sans plastiques" exactement?

 Le corps de la carte se compose de plusieurs couches de placage bois spécialement modifié. Pour la modification, nous n'utilisons que la température, la pression et l'humidité - et aucun produit chimique ou ni aucun plastique. Les supports d'antenne sont également sans plastique, car ils sont fabriqués à partir de papier. Bien entendu, les fonctions de paiement complètes de la carte nécessitent également un module de puce de sécurité, une antenne et une bande magnétique. Ces composants réglementaires et technologiquement nécessaires sont les mêmes que dans toutes les autres cartes de paiement et se composent de métaux, de semi-conducteurs, de plastiques et d'adhésifs en petites quantités.

Quel type de colle est utilisé dans les cartes en bois ? La colle est-elle à base de dérivés de pétrole ?

L'adhésif est un système aqueux, biosourcé et biodégradable. Notre philosophie est d'éviter systématiquement l’utilisation de matières premières à base de pétrole dans nos cartes en bois: l'adhésif ne contient donc pas de dérivés du pétrole brut.

Durabilité

Le corps de la carte bois est il biodégradable?

Oui, car le corps des cartes est constitué de bois et de papier collés avec un adhésif bio-sourcé et biodégradable. Les cartes bois sont donc complètement biodégradables, exceptés l'antenne, la puce et - si utilisée - l'encre d'impression et la bande magnétique

Comment détruire la carte au terme de son utilisation?

Vous pourriez utiliser la carte comme engrais dans votre jardin, car le corps de la carte est entièrement biodégradable. Cependant, comme la carte contient une bande magnétique, une puce et une antenne en cuivre, la carte appartient officiellement à la catégorie des déchets électroniques. La meilleure façon est donc de retourner la carte à votre banque, ou à l'émetteur de la carte, avec qui nous évaluons actuellement des concepts d’économie circulaire.

Quel est l'aspect écologique détaillé et le cycle de vie de la carte ?

Nous travaillons sur une analyse complète du cycle de vie qui évaluera les cartes en bois en comparaison directe avec les cartes PVC et les cartes hybrides bois-plastique en termes d'empreinte environnementale.

Les encres utilisées sur la carte sont-elles également respectueuses de l'environnement ?

Non, pas pourle moment, c'est pourquoi nous évitons leur utilisation lorsque c'est possible.Cela n'et pas toujours possible pour des raisons réglementaires (ex. Logo Maestro ou Mastercard).

Ne serait-il pas préférable de laisser les arbres dans la forêt, au lieu de les transformer en cartes bancaires ?

Non, car les forêts dont le bois est exploité de façon durable stockent plus de CO2, car elles atteignent des taux de croissance annuels plus élevés. De plus, les forêts de nos régions remplissent trois fonctions principales et interdépendantes. L’utilisation durable du bois et un entretien régulier entraînent:
- Des revenus pour les propriétaires forestiers 
- La préservation de la fonction protectrice et récréative des forets
- La stabilisation de l'écosystème forestier 
Point important: le bois doit provenir de forêts certifiées!

D'ou provient le terme "durabilité"?

Le terme "durabilité" vient à l'origine de la sylviculture : si vous ne coupez que le nombre d'arbres qui peuvent repousser, vous vous assurez que la forêt est disponible pour une utilisation future et qu'elle conserve sa valeur à long terme.

Caractéristiques techniques

Ma carte en bois peut-elle faire tout ce qu'une carte en plastique peut faire ?

 Oui, toutes les caractéristiques techniques telles que l'antenne, la puce, la bande magnétique, les fonctionnalités avec et sans contact sont identiques aux cartes classiques.

La surface de la carte en bois est-elle traitée ?

 Non, la surface n'est ni peinte ni traitée. C'est la surface du bois pur, qui devient lisse et régulière grâce à notre processus de modification - sans aucun produit chimique ni plastique.

D'ou viennent les variations de couleurs entre les différentes cartes?

Actuellement, nous utilisons du placage d'érable, qui - après la production de la carte - présente une gamme naturelle allant du brun clair au brun plus foncé. Cette variation naturelle est normale et prouve l'origine naturelle de nos cartes. 

Les cartes sont-elles produitent avec une bande magnétique et un champ de signature?

Pour des raison réglementaires, les cartes de paiements doivent avoir une bande magétique jusqu'en 2026. Nous proposons nos cartes sans champ de signature, qui n'est plus obligatoire. 

Caractéristiques d'utilisation

Quelle est la durabilité de la carte en bois par rapport à la durée de vie de 4 ans d'une carte de crédit ?

La carte en bois est conçue pour une utilisation d'une durée de quatre ans. Comme toutes les autres cartes fabriquées à partir d'autres matériaux, la carte a été soumise à des tests approfondis et a également passé tests de charge selon le CQM de Mastercard. La carte a été approuvée par Mastercard avec des restrictions sur la résistance à la rupture et à l'humidité, car le bois est un matériau hygroscopique (qui réagit aux changements d'humidité) et est plus rigide que le plastique.


La carte est-elle résistante aux chocs ?

Notre carte en bois est plus rigide qu'une carte en plastique classique et nécessite un effort nettement plus important pour être pliée. Contrairement au plastique, la carte ne peut pas être déformée sur des rayons de courbure très serrés, elle se cassera alors. Toutefois, une telle charge ne se produit pas dans le cadre d'une utilisation normale et ne peut être générée volontairement qu'au prix d'un effort important.

La carte en bois est-elle susceptible d'être endommagée lors d'une utilisation quotidienne ?

Non, la carte en bois est conçue pour un usage quotidien. Cela signifie que les contraintes mécaniques et environnementales liées à l'utilisation régulière d'une carte n'affectent pas la carte en bois. Mais une chose est claire : le bois n'est ni du plastique ni du métal.

Qu'arrive-t-il à la carte en bois si elle est mouillée ou exposée à une forte humidité ?

Comme la carte est fabriquée à partir d'un bois spécialement modifié mais cependant naturel, sans plastique ni produit chimique supplémentaire, elle absorbe une petite quantité d'humidité. Toutefois, cet effet est considérablement réduit par rapport au bois normal. Une exposition de courte durée à l'humidité n'est donc pas un problème et un reséchage immédiat permet de rétablir complètement l'état d'origine. En général, il convient d'éviter, dans la mesure du possible, tout contact avec l'eau et de conserver la carte dans son portefeuille. La carte peut être mouillée pendant une courte période si elle est ensuite séchée.

Pourquoi la carte se déforme-t-elle en cas de forte humidité ?

En raison du contact unilatéral avec l'humidité, le bois se dilate légèrement et - comme une bande bimétallique - la carte se courbe alors légèrement. Toutefois, grâce à notre modification spéciale, cet effet est fortement atténué par rapport à une carte en bois ordinaire. Et, une fois que l'humidité s'est à nouveau équilibrée des deux côtés de la carte, la déformation est également entièrement réversible.

Puis-je emporter la carte en bois avec moi et l'utiliser dans un climat humide, par exemple lors de vacances au ski/à la montagne ou sous les tropiques/à la plage ?

Oui, bien sûr. La carte en bois est conçue pour un usage quotidien. Cela signifie que les contraintes mécaniques et environnementales liées à l'utilisation régulière d'une carte bancaire n'affectent pas la carte en bois. Mais une chose est sûre : le bois n'est ni du plastique ni du métal.

Qu'arrive-t-il à la carte en bois lorsqu'elle se réchauffe, par exemple sous le pare-brise d'une voiture ?

La carte en bois est conçue pour un usage quotidien. Cela signifie que les contraintes mécaniques et environnementales liées à l'utilisation régulière d'une carte n'affectent pas la carte en bois.

Qu'arrive-t-il à la carte en bois si je la lave par mégarde ?

Si la carte a survécu et est toujours fonctionnelle après avoir été re-séchée, vous avez de la chance. Si elle ne fonctionne plus, contactez votre banque.

La carte en bois peut-elle se déformer si je la transporte dans mon portefeuille ?

Comme les cartes en plastique normales, la carte en bois peut présenter une légère déformation permanente sous une contrainte de flexion permanente. Cette déformation peut être corrigée en la pliant doucement à la main dans la direction opposée.

Comment puis-je ranger correctement la carte en bois ?

Aucune précaution particulière ne doit être prise en ce qui concerne la sécurité contre la casse. Afin d'éviter de plier la carte, il convient de ne pas la ranger librement dans un environnement humide, par exemple individuellement dans une poche de pantalon. Il est recommandé de conserver la carte dans un sac à main, un porte-carte ou un portefeuille à tout moment. Si la carte se plie néanmoins fortement en raison d'un stockage incorrect, elle ne doit pas être utilisée dans un DAB dans cet état. Toutefois, l'utilisation sans contact ou avec contact avec d'autres lecteurs de cartes n'est pas critique. La déformation se réduira d'elle-même si vous conservez la carte dans un environnement sec et dans votre portefeuille pendant une longue période.

Existe-t-il des rapports sur l'utilisation de la carte en bois ?

Oui, les premiers prototypes (par exemple les cartes de visite, les cartes prototypes) sont utilisés depuis plus de 2 ans. Récemment, les premières cartes de paiement ont également été produites.

Ansprechpartner für Swiss Wood Cards

Ansprechpartner für Swiss Wood Cards

Dr. Christian Lehringer
Chief Product Officer
T +41 44 244 38 10

Design ohne Titel (2)